The Bozeman Area Chamber of Commerce, representing its membership, advocates economic vitality, high quality of life and preservation of the free enterprise system through leadership, vision, and communication.

About the Chamber

Since 1910, the Bozeman Area Chamber of Commerce has helped businesses grow and prosper. After 100 years of service to the Bozeman Community, it is one of the largest and most aggressive business organizations in the state of Montana. On top of business and economic support, we serve Bozeman tourism by promoting the stunning landscapes, vibrant community, endless events and the people that live, work and play in Bozeman. 


Guy Sperry, known as “Mr. Bozeman,” served as Chamber Executive for 20 years. His moto, “Build a Better Bozeman,” was the foundation for community-wide efforts to enhance opportunities for all residents. Community involvement has long been inspired by Mr. Sperry’s oft-repeated admonition: “Those of us who enjoy the benefits should not just pick up the apples, but should help to shake the trees!” 

Click here for The Sperry Award Nomination Form


Since 1981, the Bozeman Area Chamber of Commerce annually selects an individual to receive the prestigious Sperry Award. The award is the Chamber's highest recognition of service to the community and excellence in business. 

Recipients of the Bozeman Area Chamber of Commerce Sperry Award (deceased*)
John Parkes 2017
Tony Wastcoat 2016
Doug Alexander 2015
Ron Ostermiller 2014
Carl Lehrkind III 2013
John Murdoch 2012
Robyn Erlenbush 2011
Jim Drummond 2010
Steve Johnson 2009
Steve Schnee 2008
Jerry Cashman 2007
Sue Johnson 2006
Carroll Henderson 2005*
Dick Walter 2004
Dan Rust 2003
Steve Sparks 2002
Connie Vanderjagt 2001
Ed Hanson 2000
Gary Tschache 1999*
John Dorn 1998
Sue Leigland 1997
Harvey Larson 1996*
Al Bertelsen 1995*
John Mandeville 1994*
Bill Rolfe 1993*
Norm Wallin 1992*
Don Langohr Jr 1991
Helen Johnson 1990*
Howard Nelson 1989*
Isabel Haynes 1988*
Torlief Aasheim 1987*
Pete Waite 1986*
Dorothy Aasheim 1985*
Lou Spain Sr 1984
Wayne Gibson 1983
Ed Sedivy Sr. 1982*


The Green Coats are the official ambassadors of the Bozeman Area Chamber of Commerce and promote goodwill while spreading awareness of Chamber activities. Green Coat Ambassadors are chosen for their contributions to the Chamber and dedication to the community. You can spot them at events by the nice green jackets they don! 


The mission of the Green Coats is to serve as the official ambassadors between the Bozeman Area Chamber of Commerce and the Bozeman area for the promotion of goodwill and community awareness of the many activities of the chamber.


  • Attend at least 8 regular meetings during the calendar year (generally once a month), unless excused in advance, and special meetings as may be required;
  • Attend Ribbon Cuttings and Grand Openings. Members will sign up and find a replacement if they find they can’t attend the function;
  • Attend “Business After Hours,” luncheons, socials, and other special functions and events. Members will sign up and find a replacement if they find they can’t attend that function;
  • Enter into full discussion and participate in decisions affecting the Green Coats and the Bozeman Area Chamber of Commerce;
  • Accept responsibility for committee assignments;
  • Offer suggestions that may occur to me on possible Green Coat programs or operational improvements;
  • Make myself available for greater responsibility in the programs/activities and structure of the Green Coats;
  • Have fun and enjoy being part of a great and prestigious organization.

Geen Coat Ambassador Bylaws

Green Coat Ambassadors

Name Business
Katherine Atteberry Retired
Jon Ayres First Security Bank
Jim Bangs Stifel Nicolaus
Kevin Black Gene Cook Real Estate
Cathy Conover Retired
Irene Dahl Dahl Funeral & Cremation Services
Rina Donaldson Express Employment Professionals
John Dorn Retired
Matt Ekstrom Morrison-Maierle, Inc.
Brian Gertiser Bridger Heating & Cooling
Wayne Gibson (H) Retired
Bruce Grubbs Retired
Ed Hanson Retired
Dan Himsworth Allegra of Bozeman
Patty Hinds Retired
Matt Johnson Stockman Bank
Steve Johnson
Bozeman School District
(H) Honorary Member
Name Business
Sue Johnson Bozeman Broker Group
Vonda Laird
J&V Restaurant Supply & Refrigeration
Sue Leigland
Greg Metzger
Bozeman Fiber
Mike Money
Big Sky Western Bank
Ron Ostermiller
Vance Paulson
House in Order
Dan Rust State Farm Insurance
Tom Shea
Brian Sprenger
Gallatin Airport Authority
Dennis Sprenger
Bozeman Trophy
Melanie Stocks
MSU Sports Facility
Vern Veltkamp Veltkamp Agency, Inc.
Tony Wastcoat
Penelope Watkins
Bozeman Lodge